Previous Page

"The Quilts of Gee's Bend: The Fabric of Their Lives"

Art Show, Gallery, Art Talk, Installations

In honor of Black History Month, Art Gallery 21 and the City of Wilton Manors are proud to present “The Quilts of Gee’s Bend: The Fabric of Their Lives” from Saturday, February 3 – Saturday, March 10. This distinctive exhibit will feature seven original quilts from the collection of Janet Dolland, advocate of the celebrated Gee’s Bend Quilter’s Collective. Formed in the isolated African American hamlet of Gee’s Bend, Alabama, in the early 20th century, this collective of women ranges in ages from 19 to 90 and has been recognized by such organizations as the U.S. Postal Service, the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, N.Y., and the National Museum in Washington, D.C. These quilts symbolize the individuality of the quilters’ multigenerational approach to African American art and culture. In addition to the exhibit, Dolland will be giving lectures on quilting Saturday, February 3 at Art Gallery 21 and Thursday, February 8 at Old Dillard High School (1001 NW 4th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311) from 6 p.m. – 8 p.m. This project is sponsored by in part by the Broward County Board of County Commissioners as recommended by the Broward Cultural Council through the Cultural Investment Program. “The Quilts of Gee’s Bend: The Fabric of Their Lives” will be available for viewing Thursdays through Saturdays from noon – 8 p.m. You won’t want to miss this once-in-a-lifetime display!

Dates in your area:
Art Gallery 21
• Fri 2/23/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sat 2/24/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Thu 3/1/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Fri 3/2/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sat 3/3/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Thu 3/8/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Fri 3/9/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sat 3/10/18 at 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM