Previous Page

Dvorák: From the New World


Dvorák: From the New World. Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Riccardo Muti, Zell Music Director. Program: MENDELSSOHN Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Overture. HINDEMITH Mathis der Maler. DVORÁK Symphony No.9 (“From the New World”). About the program: The program will open with Mendelssohn's Calm Seas and Prosperous Voyage, written when the composer was only 19 and inspired by two poems by Goethe - Merresstille and Glucklich Fahrt. The second piece on the program is Hindemith’s intensely personal 1934 Symphony Mathis der Maler, a score that was condemned by the Nazis but embraced by the public. Based on Hindemith’s opera of the same name, Mathis der Maler is Hindemith’s first symphony and remains a glorious statement of the power of art to serve humanity. The Orchestra will also play Dvorák’s beloved Symphony No. 9, “From the New World,” which the Czech composer created shortly after moving to the United States. Dvorák’s romantic impressions of America became one of the most accessible and original orchestral pieces of all time. About the artists: Founded by Theodore Thomas in 1891, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra is consistently hailed as one of the greatest orchestras in the world. Since 2010, the pre-eminent conductor Riccardo Muti has served as its 10th music director. Riccardo Muti, born in Naples, Italy, is one of the preeminent conductors of our day. When he became the tenth director of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, he already had more than forty years of experience at the helm of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Philahrmonia Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, and Teatro alla Scala.

Dates in your area:
Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts
• Tue 2/11/20 at - 8:00 PM