Previous Page

History Fort Lauderdale

219 SW 2nd Ave., Fort Lauderdale, FL

Phone:
1-(954)-463-4431

Website:
www.fortlauderdalehistoricalsociety.org

Get Directions

Upcoming Events

“Paradise from Land to Sea: Photography of JohnBob Carlos” at History Fort Lauderdale

Photography

History Fort Lauderdale, proud steward of our community’s past by making our heritage accessible and engaging to residents and visitors, will host its newest visual arts exhibit entitled “Paradise from Land to Sea: Photography of JohnBob Carlos” from March 3 – May 22, 2019. Photographs artistically capturing the beauty and majesty of Florida’s coastal vistas, skies and wildlife will be on display at the New River Inn. JohnBob Carlos, a native Floridian and photographer, captures images of Florida’s wildlife, landscapes, cultures, and waterways. His art of the lens is his means for creating a voice for Florida’s nature and preserving Florida’s culture. At a young age he felt a calling to paddle, hike, fish, and explore the Everglades. He was at home among the hammocks, swamps, strands, animals, Mangrove Islands and Florida’s wild. In recent years Carlos has become deeply concerned about the state of Florida’s nature - the devastation of these areas mostly due to money, development, pollution, business and politics. He continues to realistically document the beauty and wonder of the world around us and uses his lens to focus on the region’s need for the greater conservation and preservation of resources. For more information about History Fort Lauderdale, please call (954) 463-4431 or visit us online at historyfortlauderdale.org. Follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/ftlhistory on Instagram @ftlhistory and on Twitter @FLLhistory.

Information:

• Thu 4/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 4/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Sun 4/21/19 at 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 4/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 4/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 4/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 4/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 4/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Sun 4/28/19 at 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

The 2019 Taste the Islands Experience

Food/Tasting

An All-inclusive Caribbean Culinary Experience. Gourmet Bites, Caribbean Cocktails, Tropical Ambiance, Fabulous People. At the 3rd annual Taste the Islands Experience (#TTIX2019), attendees will enjoy authentic flavors, sights and sounds of the Caribbean, celebrity cooking demos, gourmet bites from a variety of South Florida's favorite Caribbean restaurants, an artisan shopping village, live music, DJs and more. Watch the video recap of the 2018 event - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB3qFHhaNvY. Food and spirits enthusiasts with a taste for island indulgences will gather April 26 – 28, 2019 for a series of events anchored at History Fort Lauderdale (formerly the Fort Lauderdale Historical Society). It’s an interactive celebration set along the breathtaking Riverwalk area, offering an exciting program of uniquely Caribbean activities. Stay tuned for more information, and check out the activities, talent and photos from the 2018 event at http://www.ttiexperience.com. Programming: Friday, April 26 | TTIX Under the Stars. A laid back night of live music and tropical tapas. Saturday, April 27 | The Taste the Islands Experience. An all-inclusive, full day of eats and activities with Gourmet Bites, Caribbean Cocktails, Tropical Ambiance, Fabulous People. Sunday, April 28 | TTIX Brunch on the Sunny Side. Island-themed mimosa brunch followed by a riverboat cruise.

Information:

• Fri 4/26/19 - Sun 4/28/19 at 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

“Paradise from Land to Sea: Photography of JohnBob Carlos” at History Fort Lauderdale

Photography

History Fort Lauderdale, proud steward of our community’s past by making our heritage accessible and engaging to residents and visitors, will host its newest visual arts exhibit entitled “Paradise from Land to Sea: Photography of JohnBob Carlos” from March 3 – May 22, 2019. Photographs artistically capturing the beauty and majesty of Florida’s coastal vistas, skies and wildlife will be on display at the New River Inn. JohnBob Carlos, a native Floridian and photographer, captures images of Florida’s wildlife, landscapes, cultures, and waterways. His art of the lens is his means for creating a voice for Florida’s nature and preserving Florida’s culture. At a young age he felt a calling to paddle, hike, fish, and explore the Everglades. He was at home among the hammocks, swamps, strands, animals, Mangrove Islands and Florida’s wild. In recent years Carlos has become deeply concerned about the state of Florida’s nature - the devastation of these areas mostly due to money, development, pollution, business and politics. He continues to realistically document the beauty and wonder of the world around us and uses his lens to focus on the region’s need for the greater conservation and preservation of resources. For more information about History Fort Lauderdale, please call (954) 463-4431 or visit us online at historyfortlauderdale.org. Follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/ftlhistory on Instagram @ftlhistory and on Twitter @FLLhistory.

Information:

• Mon 4/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 4/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Sun 5/5/19 at 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Sun 5/12/19 at 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Sun 5/19/19 at 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM