Previous Page

Freedom Tower

600 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL

Phone:
1ERROR

Get Directions

Featured Event

By The People: Designing a Better America

Art Show

Exhibition on View During Museum Hours: Wednesdays–Fridays, 1:00 – 6:00 PM; Saturdays, 1:00 – 8:00 PM; Sundays, 1:00 – 6:00 PM The first design exhibition scheduled in the MDC Museum of Art and Design after its April 2018 reopening, By the People: Designing a Better America will explore the challenges faced by urban, suburban and rural communities in the U.S. and its bordering countries. Based on more than two years of field research—traveling to shrinking post-industrial cities, sprawling metro regions, struggling rural towns, border regions, areas impacted by natural and man-made disaster, and places of persistent poverty, this exhibition presents collaborative designs for more equitable, inclusive and sustainable communities. Organized by the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian American Design Museum, and curated by Cynthia E. Smith, the exhibition features sixty design projects from every region across the United States, the exhibition will highlight design solutions that expand access to education, food, health care and affordable housing; increase social and economic inclusion; offer improved alternative transportation options; and provide a balanced approach to land use between the built and natural environment. By the People aims to empower visitors to see themselves as designers—not just of objects, but also of ideas, strategies, and solutions that improve their daily lives. The exhibition will showcase the innovative and impactful actions generated through design, and inspire creative problem-solving at local, regional, national, and even international levels.

Information:

• Sun 5/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 5/30/18 - Fri 6/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/2/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/3/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/6/18 - Fri 6/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/9/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/10/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/13/18 - Fri 6/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/20/18 - Fri 6/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/27/18 - Fri 6/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/4/18 - Fri 7/6/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/11/18 - Fri 7/13/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/14/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/18/18 - Fri 7/20/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/21/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/25/18 - Fri 7/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/28/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/1/18 - Fri 8/3/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/4/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/5/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/8/18 - Fri 8/10/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/11/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/12/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/15/18 - Fri 8/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/18/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/19/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/22/18 - Fri 8/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/25/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/26/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/29/18 - Fri 8/31/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/2/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/5/18 - Fri 9/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/9/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/12/18 - Fri 9/14/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/19/18 - Fri 9/21/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/26/18 - Fri 9/28/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Other Upcoming Events

William Kentridge: More Sweetly Play the Dance

Museum

More than 130 feet long, William Kentridge’s 8-channel video installation, More Sweetly Play the Dance, encircles the viewer. Partly filmed live, partly rendered in Kentridge’s signature animated style, the work covers the walls of a gallery with images of a procession in a blasted landscape. An update of the danse macabre, this parade of death includes a brass band in the lead, followed by people carrying possessions or shrouded bodies, priests, patients dragging their IV drips, skeletons, and a live ballerina (South African dancer Dada Masilo), who wears a military uniform and carries a rifle. Wooden chairs for the viewers and four megaphones on tripods playing the soundtrack make this performative video an immersive experience. Combining elements of medieval allegory with evocations of recent sights such as Syrian refugees and bodies felled by Ebola, Kentridge presents a never-ending carnivalesque reminder of our own mortality that is by turns morbid, chilling, comic, and political. But in the artist’s hands, the triumph of death ultimately becomes a celebration of resilience and life. William Kentridge is regarded as one of the most significant contemporary artists of our time. He has gained international recognition for his distinctive animated short films, and for the charcoal drawings he creates through a unique process of erasure and re-drawing. A native of Johannesburg, Kentridge has always addressed the more challenging and intimate aspects of contemporary life in South Africa, during both Apartheid and the post-Apartheid period, investigating the ways in which identities are shaped through shifting ideas of history and place. In the course of his examination, he explores the role of poetry in contemporary society, and offers a biting, satirical commentary of that society, proposing a way of seeing life as process rather than as fact. He is a visual artist, a filmmaker, a director, and a great raconteur. His body of work has spanned several artistic disciplines over three decades. Through the mediums of film, sculpture, installation, charcoal drawing, and his work in theater, Kentridge has explored the nature of memory and emotions, and the ambiguity and complexity of social conflicts in the age of globalization.

Information:

• Sun 5/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Creative Placemaking: How the Arts Are Enlivening Communities, Celebrating Diversity, and Pursuing Placekeeping

Art Talk

Professor Markusen’s talk traces the origins of “Creative Placemaking” and reviews its current features and challenges, including building partnerships, securing funding, incorporating diversity, and avoiding displacement. Using cases from around the US, she explores how artists and art forms (music, theater, dance, visual art, writing) are central to its success. Respondent: Dr. George Yúdice (University of Miami).

Information:

• Tue 5/29/18 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Creative Placemaking: What’s in It for Miami?

Art Talk

Recently, “placemaking” has become a buzzword among policy makers, foundations, and community activists. As public institutions reduce their involvement in the arts, culture, and education, private stakeholders have stepped in to address communities’ needs for inclusive public spaces. These spaces, ranging from small children playgrounds to entire arts districts, are ideally conceived in dialogue among communities, public policy agents, interested businesses and non-profits, and others. This panel will discuss how to activate “creative placemaking” initiatives, and how to balance communities’ mobilization (or lack thereof), the top-down approaches of policy-makers, and the profit drives of urban developers. Panelists: Dr. Ann Markusen (University of Minnesota), Victoria Rogers (Knight Foundation), Roberto Rovira (Florida International University). Moderator: Dr. Ariana Hernandez-Reguant (Tulane University).

Information:

• Wed 5/30/18 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

William Kentridge: More Sweetly Play the Dance

Museum

More than 130 feet long, William Kentridge’s 8-channel video installation, More Sweetly Play the Dance, encircles the viewer. Partly filmed live, partly rendered in Kentridge’s signature animated style, the work covers the walls of a gallery with images of a procession in a blasted landscape. An update of the danse macabre, this parade of death includes a brass band in the lead, followed by people carrying possessions or shrouded bodies, priests, patients dragging their IV drips, skeletons, and a live ballerina (South African dancer Dada Masilo), who wears a military uniform and carries a rifle. Wooden chairs for the viewers and four megaphones on tripods playing the soundtrack make this performative video an immersive experience. Combining elements of medieval allegory with evocations of recent sights such as Syrian refugees and bodies felled by Ebola, Kentridge presents a never-ending carnivalesque reminder of our own mortality that is by turns morbid, chilling, comic, and political. But in the artist’s hands, the triumph of death ultimately becomes a celebration of resilience and life. William Kentridge is regarded as one of the most significant contemporary artists of our time. He has gained international recognition for his distinctive animated short films, and for the charcoal drawings he creates through a unique process of erasure and re-drawing. A native of Johannesburg, Kentridge has always addressed the more challenging and intimate aspects of contemporary life in South Africa, during both Apartheid and the post-Apartheid period, investigating the ways in which identities are shaped through shifting ideas of history and place. In the course of his examination, he explores the role of poetry in contemporary society, and offers a biting, satirical commentary of that society, proposing a way of seeing life as process rather than as fact. He is a visual artist, a filmmaker, a director, and a great raconteur. His body of work has spanned several artistic disciplines over three decades. Through the mediums of film, sculpture, installation, charcoal drawing, and his work in theater, Kentridge has explored the nature of memory and emotions, and the ambiguity and complexity of social conflicts in the age of globalization.

Information:

• Wed 5/30/18 - Fri 6/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/2/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/3/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/6/18 - Fri 6/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/9/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/10/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/13/18 - Fri 6/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/20/18 - Fri 6/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 6/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 6/27/18 - Fri 6/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 6/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/4/18 - Fri 7/6/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/11/18 - Fri 7/13/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/14/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/18/18 - Fri 7/20/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/21/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 7/25/18 - Fri 7/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 7/28/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 7/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/1/18 - Fri 8/3/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/4/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/5/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/8/18 - Fri 8/10/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/11/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/12/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/15/18 - Fri 8/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/18/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/19/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/22/18 - Fri 8/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 8/25/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 8/26/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 8/29/18 - Fri 8/31/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/2/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/5/18 - Fri 9/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/9/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/12/18 - Fri 9/14/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/19/18 - Fri 9/21/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Wed 9/26/18 - Fri 9/28/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 9/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
• Sun 9/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM