Previous Page

Freedom Tower

600 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL

Phone:
1ERROR

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Miami Dade College Freedom Tower – #VoteYourMainStreet Community Rally

Community Event

Miami’s Freedom Tower invites the public to an exciting afternoon full of culture, music and art to celebrate its participation in the Partners in Preservation: Main Streets program. The Freedom Tower is one of 20 historic sites nationwide vying for funding from Partners in Preservation: Main Streets, a campaign supported by American Express and the National Trust for Historic Preservation, in collaboration with Main Street America. Starting at 1:30 pm, community members will have a guided tour, by Miami’s favorite historian, Dr. Paul George, exploring the history and importance of the Freedom Tower. Following the tour, people can listen to Miami artist Cesar Trasobares discuss the “Cuban Streams: 1885-1965” exhibit. Guests will also be able to visit two outstanding exhibitions: William Kentridge's "Most Sweetly Play the Dance" at MOAD MDC and "Culture and Change in the Americas" at the Kislak Center. To close the exciting day, visitors can enjoy light bites while enjoying music by Cuban Trio.

Information:

• Sat 10/20/18 at 1:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Look! Talk! Create! Free Family Days at MOAD MDC

Children's Arts/Crafts, For the Family

Family Days offers free admission to families with children and hands-on educational activities designed with the whole family in mind. This monthly event features artist-led workshops, interactive gallery tours, and other activities sure to be fun for everyone. Family programs are tailored for children ages 5 to 12 and their families or adult companions. MOAD MDC’s Family Days will enhance your experience of the museum’s current exhibitions, as well as Miami Dade College’s Special Collections Galleries at the Freedom Tower. Come and join us for a shared learning experience, exploring ideas and creating together. MOAD MDC’s Family Days Programs take place from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. on the last Sunday of each month. No advance registration is required. Please check our website’s events page for more detailed information. Family Days workshops take place in MOAD MDC’s Educational Lab. Space is limited and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

Information:

• Sun 10/28/18 at 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Superflex: We Are All in The Same Boat

Gallery, Installations

Museum of Art and Design at Miami Dade College presents Superflex: We Are All in the Same Boat, the first large-scale exhibition of the critically acclaimed Danish collective Superflex in the United States. The exhibition will focus on the group’s humorous and playfully subversive installations and films that deal with the economy, financial crisis, corruption, migration, and the possible consequences of global warming. The exhibition will include a group of video, sculpture, and installation works selected for their relevance to the history, present, and future of the City of Miami. The works will reflect upon the situation of Miami from the perspectives of art, finance, climate, and a fictional, if plausible, future. The topics of water, migration, refugees, and the economy inevitably drive the conception.

Information:

• Thu 11/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 11/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 11/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 11/18/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 11/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 11/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 11/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 11/25/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Look! Talk! Create! Free Family Days at MOAD MDC

Children's Arts/Crafts, For the Family

Family Days offers free admission to families with children and hands-on educational activities designed with the whole family in mind. This monthly event features artist-led workshops, interactive gallery tours, and other activities sure to be fun for everyone. Family programs are tailored for children ages 5 to 12 and their families or adult companions. MOAD MDC’s Family Days will enhance your experience of the museum’s current exhibitions, as well as Miami Dade College’s Special Collections Galleries at the Freedom Tower. Come and join us for a shared learning experience, exploring ideas and creating together. MOAD MDC’s Family Days Programs take place from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. on the last Sunday of each month. No advance registration is required. Please check our website’s events page for more detailed information. Family Days workshops take place in MOAD MDC’s Educational Lab. Space is limited and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

Information:

• Sun 11/25/18 at 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Superflex: We Are All in The Same Boat

Gallery, Installations

Museum of Art and Design at Miami Dade College presents Superflex: We Are All in the Same Boat, the first large-scale exhibition of the critically acclaimed Danish collective Superflex in the United States. The exhibition will focus on the group’s humorous and playfully subversive installations and films that deal with the economy, financial crisis, corruption, migration, and the possible consequences of global warming. The exhibition will include a group of video, sculpture, and installation works selected for their relevance to the history, present, and future of the City of Miami. The works will reflect upon the situation of Miami from the perspectives of art, finance, climate, and a fictional, if plausible, future. The topics of water, migration, refugees, and the economy inevitably drive the conception.

Information:

• Thu 11/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 11/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 12/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 12/2/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 12/6/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 12/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 12/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 12/9/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 12/13/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 12/14/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 12/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 12/16/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 12/20/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 12/21/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 12/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 12/23/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 12/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 12/28/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 12/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 12/30/18 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Look! Talk! Create! Free Family Days at MOAD MDC

Children's Arts/Crafts, For the Family

Family Days offers free admission to families with children and hands-on educational activities designed with the whole family in mind. This monthly event features artist-led workshops, interactive gallery tours, and other activities sure to be fun for everyone. Family programs are tailored for children ages 5 to 12 and their families or adult companions. MOAD MDC’s Family Days will enhance your experience of the museum’s current exhibitions, as well as Miami Dade College’s Special Collections Galleries at the Freedom Tower. Come and join us for a shared learning experience, exploring ideas and creating together. MOAD MDC’s Family Days Programs take place from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. on the last Sunday of each month. No advance registration is required. Please check our website’s events page for more detailed information. Family Days workshops take place in MOAD MDC’s Educational Lab. Space is limited and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

Information:

• Sun 12/30/18 at 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Superflex: We Are All in The Same Boat

Gallery, Installations

Museum of Art and Design at Miami Dade College presents Superflex: We Are All in the Same Boat, the first large-scale exhibition of the critically acclaimed Danish collective Superflex in the United States. The exhibition will focus on the group’s humorous and playfully subversive installations and films that deal with the economy, financial crisis, corruption, migration, and the possible consequences of global warming. The exhibition will include a group of video, sculpture, and installation works selected for their relevance to the history, present, and future of the City of Miami. The works will reflect upon the situation of Miami from the perspectives of art, finance, climate, and a fictional, if plausible, future. The topics of water, migration, refugees, and the economy inevitably drive the conception.

Information:

• Thu 1/3/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 1/4/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 1/5/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 1/6/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 1/10/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 1/11/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 1/12/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 1/13/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 1/17/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 1/18/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 1/19/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 1/20/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 1/24/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 1/25/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 1/26/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 1/27/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 1/31/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 2/1/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 2/2/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 2/3/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 2/7/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 2/8/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 2/9/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 2/10/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 2/14/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 2/15/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 2/16/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 2/17/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 2/21/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 2/22/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 2/23/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 2/24/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 2/28/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 3/1/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 3/2/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 3/3/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 3/7/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 3/8/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 3/9/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 3/10/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 3/14/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 3/15/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 3/16/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 3/17/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 3/21/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 3/22/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 3/23/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 3/24/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 3/28/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 3/29/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 3/30/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 3/31/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 4/4/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 4/5/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 4/6/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 4/7/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 4/11/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 4/12/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 4/13/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 4/14/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Thu 4/18/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Fri 4/19/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sat 4/20/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
• Sun 4/21/19 at 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM