Previous Page

Museum of Contemporary Art at North Miami

770 N.E. 125th St., North Miami, FL

Phone:
1-(305)-893-6211

Website:
www.mocanomi.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

2017/2018 Teen Programs at Museum of Contemporary Art in North Miami

Class/Workshop

The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), North Miami is offering its Teen Programs for the upcoming seven months. These dynamic programs will be offered for teens ages 13 through 17. The programs are to feature fashion design, drawing and portfolio development, photography, mixed media, and much more. These programs will enable teens to explore their artistic abilities and create their own pieces. The goal of this programming is to engage teens in contemporary art and introduce them to the vibrant world of art. The classes will run from 3:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday from Oct. 9, 2017 – May 25, 2018. The themes for each day are as follows: Monday: Fashion Design and Textile Design & Development Tuesday: Drawing & Portfolio Development and Photography Wednesday: Mixed Media & Sculpture Thursday: Print Making Friday: Art Journalism for Junior Docents All classes are free and materials are provided. All students must complete the registration form in order to attend. To register, visit https://mymoca.wufoo.com/forms/moca-teen-programs/.

Information:

• Thu 2/22/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 2/23/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 2/26/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 2/27/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 2/28/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 3/1/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 3/2/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 3/5/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 3/6/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 3/7/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 3/8/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 3/9/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 3/12/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 3/13/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 3/14/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 3/15/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 3/16/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 3/19/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 3/20/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 3/21/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 3/22/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 3/23/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 3/26/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 3/27/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 3/28/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 3/29/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 3/30/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 4/2/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 4/3/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 4/4/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 4/5/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 4/6/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 4/9/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 4/10/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 4/11/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 4/12/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 4/13/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 4/16/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 4/17/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 4/18/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 4/19/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 4/20/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 4/23/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 4/24/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 4/25/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 4/26/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 4/27/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 4/30/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 5/1/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 5/2/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 5/3/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 5/4/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 5/7/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 5/8/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 5/9/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 5/10/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 5/11/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 5/14/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 5/15/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 5/16/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 5/17/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 5/18/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Mon 5/21/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Tue 5/22/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Wed 5/23/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Thu 5/24/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
• Fri 5/25/18 at 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

Other Upcoming Events

Jazz at MOCA

Jazz

The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), North Miami is celebrating Black History Month with two-time Gramy Award nominee Robert “Bobby” Thomas Jr. as part of its monthly Jazz at MOCA series. Widely considered one of the most important percussionists in music history, Thomas’ lightning-fast hands and percussive pyrotechnics earned him the title “Hand Drummer.”

Information:

• Fri 2/23/18 at 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Art Talk: Gregory Pierre-Louis

Class/Workshop

Gregory Pierre-Louis, emerging mixed media artist and curator of MOCA’s Fresh Threads exhibition, will discuss his work, influences and historical reference of fabric in Black art forms. This event will take place alongside the city of North Miami’s Black History Month Music in the Plaza program from 6:00-11:00 p.m.

Information:

• Sat 2/24/18 at 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Lionel Smit Obscura Artist Reception 

Art Show, Gallery, Mixed Media, Museum

The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), North Miami will open its spring season with the presentation of “Obscura.” The exhibition by South African Contemporary Artist Lionel Smit will be his first solo museum exhibition in the U.S. and will run from March 8 – May 6, 2018. Smit is recognized globally for his monumentally scaled portraitures depicted through mixed media. In “Obscura,” Smit fuses gestural brushstrokes, splashed and splattered paint, and captivating pigments of color with a realistic representation of the heads and faces of his subjects on a large scale. The bold surfaces of Smit’s paintings are echoed in the clay form, which he uses to create bronze and resin portraiture sculptures. These sculptures also demonstrate the blend of naturalism and abstract expressionism, with modeled and textured surfaces.

Information:

• Thu 3/15/18 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Creative Arts Spring Break Camp at MOCA

Children's Arts/Crafts

The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), North Miami is offering a five-day, spring break art camp for children ages 6 through 12. Each day children will be introduced to and experiment with different art and design techniques in a creative environment. The classes are taught by experienced Miami-based artist/educators who will provide age appropriate instruction and activities that will conclude with an exhibition and ArtParty. When: The classes will run March 26 - March 30, 2018 from 9 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Monday, March 26: Ceramics; Tuesday, March 27: Drawing and Painting; Wednesday, March 28: Fabric Collage and Embroidery; Thursday, March 29: Working with Wood; Friday, March 30: Set Building for Stop Motion Animation & ArtParty from 3:30-5:30 p.m.

Information:

• Mon 3/26/18 - Fri 3/30/18 at 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM